Zentangle is the cat’s pajamas

Diva Challenge #142 – Danger Zone

So managed to do a Diva Challenge two weeks in a row. That’s a first for awhile.  I had a bit of extra time doodling this week because I got to take a day out while minding a good friend’s munchkins while she labored with another.  The resulting munchkin is a beautiful girl who I am really looking forward to seeing growing. 

This week’s Diva Challenge is to move outside your comfort zone into dangerous areas.  I decided to meet the challenge head on by trying to do some Mooka.  Not really happy with how wobbly my lines go on this particular tangle.  I just can’t seem to hold I nice steady hand.  Or perhaps its just I’m trying too hard.  Anyway – I had a nice practice and moved on.

In my new mini-moleskine I decided to pick tangles I had never drawn before. This is the result.  I was pretty happy with it.   I didn’t use a single one of my comfort tangles. But I did use Chaining which is one of those tangles I just can’t do.  (Still can’t – as you can see).   Think the “BB” was my favourite new tangle. 

Zentangle_0031

7 responses

  1. You did a wonderful job here! Great choice of tangles!

    November 2, 2013 at 6:18 am

  2. nice , interesting is that two tiles?

    November 1, 2013 at 5:12 pm

    • The Crooked Dog

      Thanks Cecile. Actually this is a spread in a pocket-sized moleskine. The pages are about as wide as a tile though.

      November 1, 2013 at 8:17 pm

  3. This is yummy, love your tangle choice, great combination of textures and shading.

    November 1, 2013 at 11:24 am

  4. Annemarie

    I never tried Chaining again after trying a long time ago. You had the courage to try again, bravo.
    I like your tile with beautiful tangles.

    November 1, 2013 at 6:58 am

  5. Thinking picking tangles that have not used before is a great way to address this challenge. A lot of folks will practice a tangle in a journal numerous times before they are comfortable using it on a tile. Sounds like maybe you found some that may become favorites.

    November 1, 2013 at 3:44 am

  6. I also have difficulty with Chaining, so I feel your “pain”! Nice tile!

    November 1, 2013 at 1:54 am

Please feel free to leave a comment.

