Zentangle is the cat’s pajamas

Diva Challenge #125: Birdie Feet

This week’s Diva challenge was to use the UMT (Use My Tangle) tangle called Birdie by Owl Loving April.

Zentangle_0021b

I’m inspired often by the delicate patterns of feathers on birds. My favourite at the moment is probably guineafowl feathers.  That play of white dots on a dark background.

Once upon a time I used to be an undergraduate zoologist and used to spend vast amounts of my spare time tromping around the nearby national park in the breaking dawn trapping small wee birds in mist nets (all fully licensed etc.) and banding their legs and taking their measurements and sending them off to the bird banding society.

I loved holding those birds, briefly and gently, and seeing that the amazing patterns their feathers made.  It’s a whole other world: that boring brown bird that flits about in the bushes is actually magnificent in the hand.

Once I spent a whole year studying two species of thornbills in the ranges outside my hometown. These tiny birds are amongst the smallest species in Australia.

To this day I keep an eye out for their fluffy little brown shapes tweeping and chuckling in the scrub or high in the trees.

IMG_0420IMG_0421

So thanks Owl Loving April and Laura (the Diva) for this weeks challenge.  I enjoyed my little bird reminiscences.

3 responses

  1. Annemarie

    Thank you for sahring your thought about birds and their beauty. Your tile is very beautiful with well chosen tangles.

    July 6, 2013 at 6:00 am

  2. You have such beaut memories of watching days and created a very effective ZIA.

    July 5, 2013 at 11:16 pm

  3. It´s lovely! Your tile has a great balance of black and white. Also I like your choice of tangles. Well done!

    July 5, 2013 at 4:50 pm

Please feel free to leave a comment.

