Zentangle is the cat’s pajamas

Diva Challenge #120 Bales

Bales.  Bales is a good tangle pattern. Even though I haven’t been tangling that long, I’ve used it quite a few times.  So it was with relish that I extracted a pair of new zentangle tiles from my precious stash and set to work this week on the Diva’s Weekly Challenge #120.

Here’s my first tile.

Zentangle_0018

And while I was doing that I started to think about my second tile.  I also love the Zentangle pattern Cubine.  I started wondering whether you could merge Bales into Cubine on a tile. This is what happened when I tried. (Please excuse its upside-down-ness).

Zentangle_0017

I’ve also been tangling away in my Moleskine over the last week, as I had a couple of days on the couch with a bout of tonsilitis. Boy, tonsillitis as an adult makes you feel really crappy.  Pencillin is a marvellous invention and luckily, as my GP said, it kills tonsillitis dead in about two days.  So having slept straight through all of Tuesday, this is what I was upto while perched on the couch under my quilt and listening to an audiobook all day Wednesday and Thursday. Zentangle is a lovely way to spend time recuperating.

Zentangle_0020

PS. I was listening to “The Secret Keeper” by Kate Morton. (Our local library has a fantastic service where you can borrow Bolinda Audiobooks for two weeks at a time!!!)  As well as being good stories, Kate Morton really does a great job on the old narcissistic character.  There was a fabulously subtle narcissistic character in this book and an even better one in another of her books that I read (listened to), called the “Forgotten Garden”.

Hope you are all having a nice week.

15 responses

  1. Well, I’m upside down from what I see here! Your tiles are great and the ZIA is absolutely fabulous!!

    June 3, 2013 at 6:38 am

  2. Annemarie

    So, even beeing ill you are able to make beautiful art. I love the combination of Bales and Cubine. Your zia is GREAT.
    Hope you feel better by now.

    June 1, 2013 at 6:34 am

  3. You are really in the ‘tangling groove’. Nice tangles…all. Especially love the merging of Bales and Cubine. Your shading enhanced the designs nicely.

    May 31, 2013 at 7:20 pm

  4. Nice job transitioning. Is there in all of your tiles. Like the Bales Cubine combination.

    May 30, 2013 at 4:50 pm

  5. Gosh you are going well, I love the way you merged cubine with bales.

    May 30, 2013 at 9:31 am

  6. These are very clever tiles.Love the way you followed over into the cube on 2nd tile.Love that 3rd tile.Very flowing.Well done.

    May 30, 2013 at 8:20 am

  7. Helen in the UK

    LOVE how you morphed Bales into Cubine 🙂

    May 30, 2013 at 7:47 am

  8. Pinetree Studios

    I love all three pieces! Awesome! Hope/Glad you’re feeling better!

    May 30, 2013 at 6:02 am

  9. The Crooked Dog

    Thanks for your lovely comments everyone.

    May 29, 2013 at 11:28 pm

  10. I must say that you have given me a wonderful journey from your first tile down to the second and then wow! I so love your final ZIA, it if fan-tas-tic!!!!!

    May 29, 2013 at 6:06 pm

    • The Crooked Dog

      Thanks Ledenzer – that means a lot coming from you. I just LOVE your work. 🙂

      May 29, 2013 at 11:28 pm

  11. ohhhh I love the middle one the most. You did good work.

    May 29, 2013 at 6:01 pm

  12. Nice work! I like the way that you combines Bales and Cubine. The pairing gives a nice 3-D effect.

    May 29, 2013 at 5:20 pm

  13. You have a real talent for this. I would never guess you were new to tangling or Zentngle®. Both your tiles are great and I love how you morphed Bales into Cubine. Very clever. Your moleskin page is also very striking.

    May 29, 2013 at 2:58 pm

  14. I love the 2nd. The way you slightly change from bales to cubine. Great!

    May 29, 2013 at 1:39 pm

Please feel free to leave a comment.

