Zentangle is the cat’s pajamas

Diva Challenge #113: Hip to be Square

This is my second go at a Diva Challenge, but the first time that I will be on time for the deadline.  I am hoping I can manage to get the linkey thing to work ok.

This week’s challenge is a square inside a square.  As per usual I used my Moleskine notebook.  Although this morning I did finally manage to find a CZT (Michelle Beauchamp) based in Tasmania, Australia, who actually sells Zentangle tiles downunder.  I can’t wait for them to arrive in the post!

Zentangle_0010b

Tangle patterns: Peaks Border, River, Hollibaugh, Shattuck, Tipple, Pokeleaf.

This was the first time I tried River as a pattern, and I was only marginally happy with the way it came out.  I think if I did another version of this I would also try to have more elements coming across the borders to add more interest.

I also scanned this before before shading…

Zentangle_0010

…and after shading to show what a difference a bit of shading can make to a zentangle.

Zentangle_0010b

17 responses

  1. Great looking tile, like the contrast between shading and no shading.

    April 12, 2013 at 1:03 pm

  2. I really like the tangles you chose, and enjoyed the flow of river. Nice!

    April 11, 2013 at 1:54 pm

  3. Great sense of depth in this

    April 11, 2013 at 12:25 am

  4. Susan

    Great tile and very nice reminder about shading. Lovely!

    April 10, 2013 at 6:16 pm

  5. Annemarie

    Your tile is beautiful. I do like your ‘River’.

    April 10, 2013 at 6:02 am

  6. Cheers and congratulations on a splendid challenge piece. Great hollibaugh.

    April 10, 2013 at 2:39 am

  7. Love the tangles you chose and how you put it together. Really awesome tile.

    April 10, 2013 at 1:32 am

  8. I really like how you used river. It pulls your eye around the whole piece! Nice work!

    April 10, 2013 at 1:18 am

  9. So glad you were able to get the ‘linky’ to work because your tile is really nice! Love your Poke Root! All of it is very nice!

    Jacque Solomon
    http://www.tanglebright.com

    April 9, 2013 at 11:45 pm

  10. Your tile is very nice and my favourite part is the centre, nice linework.

    April 9, 2013 at 9:39 pm

  11. Traci F.

    Such a beautiful tangle. River turned out nicely . . . I love it!

    April 9, 2013 at 7:03 pm

  12. Quite lovely. Love the 3D quality.

    April 9, 2013 at 4:04 pm

  13. Wonderfully done!

    April 9, 2013 at 12:36 pm

  14. Sue

    Nicely done! I love your ‘river’ (a tangle I haven’t used yet), and it balances nicely with shattuck. The before and after shading is always so neat to see – yes, it really does make a difference.

    April 9, 2013 at 12:14 pm

  15. You have a really good design sense. It was fun to stop by and have a look. Thanks!

    April 9, 2013 at 10:58 am

  16. Beautiful! The center piece seems to be floating over the hollibaugh. Love it.

    April 9, 2013 at 10:57 am

  17. This is just lovely, I really enjoy how the fold in the page adds another dimension to this fabulous piece. Thanks for showing the before and after shading, it’s so fun to see the process.

    April 9, 2013 at 10:01 am

Please feel free to leave a comment.

